Suicide Statistics

What is it with people and commiting suicide? Is life really that easy to give up on? Why are people giving up on their lives obstacles?

These are just a few questions people ask when they heard about people commiting suicide on the news whether they knew them in person or they admire them as they are famous people. 

Some, especially those who are very religious will scoff and make the sign of the cross for these people who died but then whisper about the deceased. Make some comments, rude ones and not, and discuss the lives of these people as if they actually knew them. 

But what they don’t actually know is that it is very hard to fight a battle, a battle that cannot be defeated by swords,  guns,  and tanks. That cannot be silence by words that you yourself cannot believe. 

One person commits suicide every 40 seconds, as we have 60seconds per minute and 60 minutes per hour and 24 hours per day so approximately 36 people commits suicide per day. Some may be people that you don’t know and some people may be people that you actually admire in either showbusiness or the music industry. 

According to World Health Organization this statistic will go up to one death per 20 seconds in 2020.

Some other statistics according to WHO are the following:

  • The last 45 years there is a 60% increase in suicide worldwide! Suicide attempts are up to 20 times more frequent than completed suicides. 
  • Mental health disorders (particularly with depression and substance abuse) are associated with 90% of all suicide cases. 
  • Suicides by age globally are also as follows: 55% are aged 15 to 44 years old 45% are aged 45 years old and above. 

For more statistics go to this website.

As a person who suffers from depression and social anxiety, as someone who has been a part of the statistic in regards to suicide attempt when I saw these numbers I felt faint. 

I know what these people are going through. How they feel so helpless and alone, how they feel isolated. They know you are there for them, for us so please don’t tell us that you are there. Because we know! 

We know that there are actually people who love us, we know that there are people who care about us. But what you guys don’t actually know is that we are having a hard time. 

We are having a hard time from opening up, telling you what we actually are feeling. We have it in our head that you, our friends and family, will not understand us. 

As someone who actually underwent this experience let me just tell you about my story:

The first time I attempted to take my life, I was around 18 or 19 years of age. I stopped from going to college classes, I stopped believing that I can catch up with my education just because I am failing on one subject. I came from a very loving family, a very strict Catholic family. But even though they were supportive and loving,  I thought I had already disappointed them. 

You guys might think that it’s just a simple problem and it shouldn’t be taken that seriously. To you may be but not to me.

I was under pressure from my family, to set a better example for my younger siblings and when I learned that I have failed that one class I already lost hope. 

You might ask why, if my family is a strict Catholic family, why wouldn’t I just pray and lift my troubles to God? 

Well, I may be a Catholic but my faith was lacking. I didn’t have a personal relationship with Him. 

So to escape my problems I searched the internet and look for the right sleeping pills to take to end my life, and I took it! Well you might see that the result wasn’t the one I wanted. I didn’t die. I didn’t become a successful statistic but still I am a statistic. 

The next time I took my life was when I was just so tired. Still thinking that I am a disappointment, that I have no future, that I have no use. I just wanted to ease my parents burden and took my life again by mixing a cocktail of different medicines and drank it! Whelp, still here! Still unsuccessful.

So as my previous attempts weren’t successful what I actually did was finally cry for help. Thankfully my mother paid for a therapist that sat down and made me feel that finally someone can understand where I am coming from. I sat down and finally opened up about my problems, about what is actually happening in my head. 

I am grateful for my therapist because she have helped me figure things out. She finally opened my eyes, made me see that I am actually not alone in facing this mental battle I have going on. That I have my family with me, I know that I am just one of the statistics that was given help at the right moment. 

I am not saying that I am out of the woods yet, but I know that our battles may be different from each other but I actually understand where you guys are coming from. 

I know how the feeling of being alone when you actually have people surrounding you. I know the feeling of not having someone to understand when you have a house full of people. I know the feeling of being useless when you are not. I know the feeling of being worthless, I know how you guys feel. 

This is not me trying to shove my story down your throats. This is me making you guys understand that you are not alone. That someone out there who have felt the same way you did. Someone who actually understands where you are coming from.

Now whenever I feel the urge to drink those pills, to just slit my wrist and end my life I call my mother or let my mother call me. Someone that I know who always have my back, but more importantly I read a book that actually helps me more than reading a bible does, it’s called: “God’s whispers to a woman’s heart”

I just want to put my story out there for those who are still suffering. To tell you guys that you are not alone. That if you ever wanted someone to talk to, I am here. If you don’t want to talk to a stranger then you can talk to someone in your family or a friend. But most importantly there is now a hotline waiting for you guys to call when you have the urge to take your life.

To help you guys I am listing all the Suicide hotlines that I can search here.

Australia:
Headspace 1800 650 890 
 
Canada:
778-783-0177
 
Philippines:
Landline: (02) 804-4673
Mobile: (63) 917 558 4673
 
Russia:
007 (8202) 577-577

For the complete list go here: Suicide Hotline

Thank you guys for reading and hopefully this blog post will help lessen the statistic that I have seen in regards to suicide. 

Love, 

Leave a Reply

